An Overview of Financial Risk Management (FRM) Course

About the FRM Program
With seismic changes continuing to occur in the financial services industry worldwide, professionals who manage risk, money and investments are recognizing the need to objectively demonstrate a globally standardized level of up-to-date industry knowledge.

Requiring the successful completion of a rigorous two-part, practice-oriented examination, the Financial Risk Manager (FRM) designation provides a bedrock foundation in a profession and industry that is rapidly evolving. Since the FRM Program’s inception in 1997, Certified FRMs have achieved positions such as Chief Risk Officer, Senior Risk Analyst, Head of Operational Risk, and Director of Investment Risk Management, to name a few.

The global FRM community is growing dramatically, with Certified FRMs represented at nearly every major banking institution, government regulator, consulting firm and financial services institution around the world.

Fast Facts of FRM Program
There are over 32,000 Certified FRMs practicing worldwide
Over 150,000 registrations for the FRM Exam since 1997
In 2014, FRM candidates came from 143 different countries and territories
Registrations for the 2014 FRM Exam represented more than 6,000 organizations globally
923 Organizations had 5 or more FRM registrations in 2013

FRM Program Roadmap
FRM_PROGRAM_ROADMAP The FRM designation is the most globally respected certification for financial risk management, owing to a rigorous program that ensures that Certified FRMs have mastered the necessary skills and knowledge to succeed in today’s rapidly changing global financial industry.

There are no educational or professional prerequisites to sit for the FRM Exam. However, to become a Certified FRM, candidates must complete the FRM Program as outlined below:
FRM Programe

The FRM Exam tests progressive, cumulative knowledge; the concepts tested in Part I are needed for Part II. Thus candidates choosing to sit for both Exams — Part I and Exam Part II — on the same day, must pass Part I before Part II will be graded.
In order to become a Certified FRM after passing the FRM Exam Part II, candidates must demonstrate a minimum of two years of risk-related full-time professional experience.
To review the requirements for FRM certification in full, please click here. To view a sample list of job titles that qualify candidates for FRM certification, please click here.

Preparing for the FRM Exam
The FRM Exam Preparation Handbook is designed to assist FRM candidates in their preparation for the FRM Exam by suggesting strategies for completing the reading material. To review this resource, and to access other study materials, please click here.

Leave a Comment